F. Scott Fitz is Still all the Rage

Robert McCrumb over at The Guardian has written a fabulous piece on F. Scott Fitzgerald reflecting on his tenacity in our culture. Taking into account all the recent Fitzgerald-inspired works, including the play Gatz, Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris, and the upcoming film adaptation of The Great Gatsby, starring Leo DeCaprio, it’s proof that Fitzgerald is still on our minds.

He was on my mind a couple weeks ago when I was reading Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast.  Fitzgerald was featured a lot, driving around with Hemingway, and being a general pain in the ass.  I had no idea just how unstable Fitzgerald was. Of course, this could have been Hemingway’s interpretation of him.  I haven’t read up much on what Fitzgerald was like otherwise, but if Hemingway’s descriptions of him were any indication, bless Hemingway for putting up with him. Of course, I’ve heard some not-so-nice stuff about Hemingway as well. It’s all relative, I suppose.

But don’t get me wrong, I love Fitzgerald and think his stories are a work of art. He’s my mother’s favorite author so I’ve always had a soft spot for him. She and I even visited his gravesite together (see below). I am, however, very interested in knowing more about him and Zelda and the whole shebang now that Hemingway has whetted my appetite.

Leave a Reply

